A Word from the Sponsor

I have been a long time graduate of the School of Hard Knocks and I majored in smartass. As you have may or may not have read in my posts here on Uncle Bardie’s Stories & Such, there isn’t much I don’t find hilarious. These days either you find things a hoot or you run around pissing everybody off with your smoke and mirrors, or your anger. Since I am no Alice Cooper, I much prefer the hoot filosofy. Through these posts, I try to share some of that hilarity with you, my readers.

If you have been offended by some of my bombast here, that could very well be a good thing. I know my yard has taken its yardness seriously. It’s still mad at me for the blog I did about its desire for a Facebook page. Says I made a darn fool of it. I may just never live that one down. But I don’t try to hit below the belt with your hands tied behind you. That’s not fair, even in the land of the free and the home of the brave. I don’t try to pull the People of Walmart guys thing and make fun of people in a way that is cruel and unusual punishment. Seems to me that those guys are getting their fun from sheer meanness. Free speech doesn’t mean you have to be rude.

I take my fun seriously. And my heroes are Monty Python, Dorothy Parker, Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert. I don’t think I could pick a better class of peeps to admire. Stir a little Mark Twain in there and you get an idea of what part of town I want to take these little treasures to. I do try to listen to the muse when she comes down off her pedestal every now and then and gives me a swift kick in the butt. After I get over the ouching, I find the inspiration has been very helpful.

These days I wish we had more compassion for each other. More tolerance too. There seems to be way too much yelling, screaming and name-calling, and very little listening. Anger seems to be the word for the day. We see or hear something on the world wide web or TV and immediately we jump to conclusions. We’ve become like the kid who is cussing out his parents when he doesn’t get his way. We all have seen that kid and we all hate what he is doing. Somebody needs to smack the kid on his bottom to get his attention, then tell him that nobody gets their way one hundred percent of the time. I know I certainly don’t. If I come out even I figure I have won my share of the goodies. You win a little, you lose a little and that is a good thing. And I take my share of the responsibility for the discord.

As a closing thought, I would like to share this little haiku with you. Seems to have some deep meaning but I sure can’t figure out what it is.

A river of birds

splat on a lot of houses

as they flew over

Join the Fun and Comment

