EXTRA! EXTRA! READ ALL ABOUT IT!

I can hear some of you saying, “What’s all the shouting about? It’s Monday morning, and I am trying to get some sleep.”

Well, Uncle Bardie has News Big Time. It has been one year. Yes, 12 months, 52 weeks, 365 days since the insanity began here at Uncle Bardie’s Stories & Such. And, oh joy, oh joy. Uncle Bardie can’t help but dance. He’s sitting at his desk and his fingers are dancing across the keyboard because he’s so darn happy.

You heard it right. This is the first Birtherversary of Uncle Bardie’s Stories & Such. It has been one year of extra special fun, giving my readers some humor, some stories, some poemers and a a few pickin’ and grinnin’s.

It’s been an absolutely wonderful experience, meeting so many new people. When I began, I thought I would be happy if only ten people followed me. I am amazed that I have over 200 followers. That is a big WOW on my part. And a huge thank you to all of you who continue to put up with my nonsense. I just want you to know how much I love you guys. You have allowed me to take risks and tolerated my foibles. Because of you, I have been urged on to give my best.

THE PAST YEAR

Since that first sign on, I have given you 139 posts. In them, you’ve learned more than you ever wanted to know about cow tipping. You met my lawn, and found out that I ain’t giving it a Facebook page no matter how much it bets. You were surprised that Mylie Cyrus could twerk-bomb terrorists. You found out that superheroes have to do laundry just like the rest of us.

Since inquiring minds want to know, I took on age old questions like: If life is so short, why do we get so many chances to screw up? What do you do with a dead body? Why did God give me one big mouth to stick my two feet in? How many angels can dance on the head of a pin? What’s a dot to do? Questions like that. I even let you in on everything I know about women. It was hard to contain myself with that one. So much knowledge and so many words.

There’s been romance. There’s been history. There’s been some theology. There’s even been some writing posts: “Five Rules for Lead Characters to Live By”, “The Writer’s Life” and “The Maestro”. There was a Mother’s Day Meditation called “Mother of the World”. Where that one came from I will never know. Sometimes the Muse is good. There was even a post about “The Art Scene”.

Last January, I took on a new writing assignment. Every Wedmesday, I would write a story, using another story as a prompt. What a fun thing to do and what a challenge. It has given me the opportunity to read stories that I had never read, then beat my head against the wall trying to come up with a response. It has been a great conversation starter with some of the great short story writers. I am over halfway finished with the list. And I shall miss it when it concludes at the end of the year.

THE FUTURE

In the coming year, I will be posting more of the same. If you have enjoyed what you have found here, there’s more to come. I hope you enjoy these twice-a-weeks as much as I enjoy writing them.

Next year I will be replacing the Short Story Prompts with something I am excited about. Uncle Bardie will be doing The Bard. I am talking Shakespeare here. I plan on taking on “Hamlet”, and it’s going to be a “Hamlet” you’ve never met before. Like the comedian Gallagher says, “it’s my job to point out the stuff you never thought of. There will be posts like “Hamlet and the Knock-knock Joke” and “Hamlet and a Dark and Stormy Night”.

I LOVE BLOGGING

One thing I want y’all to know is that I love Blogging and I love being a Blogger. Some folks look down on blogging. They say it ain’t real writing. I say they are all wrong. It is not only real writing, sometimes it’s the best writing.

Since I have begun this adventure, I have met so many great bloggers. People who pour their hearts and souls into their posts. They give everything they have to this. And I love what you do.

The great surprise of all this has been the community of bloggers I have found here at Word Press. When I view and read your posts, I feel like I am getting to know a three dimensional you that I would never be able to know on Facebook or Twitter. Unlike Twitter, I know that there is a real person behind the post and I find out what that person really thinks and cares about.  It is like a conversation I might have with the blogger over a cup of coffee.

And, oh my, I do love your comments and I am so thankful for your Likes. You are so encouraging. So here’s to the coming year. And a final note. I love you guys, and thank you.

Big Hugs from Uncle Bardie.

26 thoughts on “EXTRA! EXTRA! READ ALL ABOUT IT!

Join the Fun and Comment

