Some Pleasures

I just want to say how thankful I am for all you who read my posts. I am so grateful for you guys. Thank you.

The perfect meal, thanksgiving turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, gravy, green beans, buttered rolls, pecan pie and iced tea.

Christmas lights twinkling from houses along a street.

Nat King Cole’s version of “The Christmas Song”

A spring morning on my back porch with the cats and watching the birds in the trees.

Joshua Bell playing the violin.

Ravel’s “Une Barque Sur l’Ocean”

Renoir’s “Luncheon of the Boating Party”

“Let Evening Come”, a poem by Jane Kenyon

Creating a scene whereby two characters, a man and a woman, walk out on the stage of a street and admire the stars, or any number of other scenes that I am amazed that I wrote.

The feet of a flamenco dancer in rhythm with the guitarista.

Listening to Frank Sinatra at three a. m.

An Edward Hopper painting of a diner at the loneliest time of night

John Lennon’s “Norwegian Wood” words and music dancing across the room to my ears, two perfect partners.

Good food and drink in a room full of friends celebrating

A late night drive

A Henry Moore sculpture, lines that rise and fall to the beat of eternity

Kathe Kohlwitz’s “Mourning Parents”

Alan Rickman delivering his lines

Bobbie Kennedy speaking against injustice

Jerry Seinfeld, Kramer, Elaine Benis and George Costanza

Three cats sleeping in my living room.

Season three of “Northern Exposure”

A laugh that begins in my toes and moves all the way up my body and out my mouth in one gigantic ha.

The first time I read a novel or a story or a poem where the writer blows the top of my head off with his prose and story, a novel like “The River Runs Through It”, “The Old Capital” or “The Old Man and the Sea” or the Alice Munro story “Walker Brothers Cowboy” or Tillie Olsen’s “I Stand Here ironing”.

Delivering humor, a joke or a line or a phrase or word, that emits laughter from another person.

Reading “A Tell Tale Heart” by Edgar Alan Poe at midnight

An Alfred Hitchcock movie

Following my curiosity and learning something new.

Finishing a blog or a story or a novel or a poem I am very proud of.

The movie “Cinema Paradiso”

A friend’s thank you

Finding a great gift for a loved one or a friend, then giving it to them and finding out that they love it.

Finding a new musician that I love

Writing the perfect sentence

My job in a library

Donatello’s “Mary Magdalen”

Praise from a reader

Creating pieces late at night

Seeing a new movie and finding out that good movies are still made

The support of friends and loved ones.

All these I am thankful for and more. I am especially thankful for those who love me and care about me. Happy Thanksgiving to each and every one of you and to your families and loved ones.

11 thoughts on “Some Pleasures

  1. The howl of my ex-mother-in-law shrieking at my half-in-the-bag father in-law to get off his ass and help her with the oyster stew. I’d give anything to hear that again. Such a sweet woman, too bad she belongs to the ages.

Join the Fun and Comment

