Let me sing the praises…

of a root beer float. After a long hard day of this and that and the other, what a better way to relax than go into the kitchen, dump several scoops of vanilla ice cream into a glass and pour some root beer over it. Then go into the living room, sit in the big arm chair, put my feet up on the foot stool, click on the TV and the blu ray and watch a movie. The cat crawls up on my lap and lays there quietly. Now that’s living.

of cornbread. I got to tell you this is the food of the gods. When I die and meet St. Peter at the Pearly Gates, he’s going to have a big plate of cornbread waiting for me. If I am to be let in, that is.

One of the fondest memories of my childhood was this. I would spend my summers staying at a farm owned by some friends of my mother. These folks had fourteen kids. So another mouth to feed was no big deal. The big meal of the day was a midday dinner. In the evening we kids had leftover cornbread.

We would heat up a piece of that cornbread and slop some butter on it. We were in hog heaven. Either that or crumble up the cornbread in a glass of cold milk. I am telling you that there is nothing like it. Man, my mouth waters just thinking about that cornbread melting in my mouth.

Is there a food that brings back childhood memories to you?

18 thoughts on “Let me sing the praises…

  1. Yup. I didn’t even have to think about it: baking powder biscuits with freshly churned butter, homemade apricot jam, and cold milk β€” one of the few things we children were allowed to eat as much of as we wanted. When the cow was dry, we did without the butter and milk, but didn’t complain.

  2. My sister and I loved sneaking bites of the raw stuffing before it went into the turkey on Thanksgiving. (Raw eggs and all!!)

  3. Root beer floats remind me of the time I got a stomach bug right after drinking one. I have never wanted one since.
    My mom used to make homemade doughnuts, and none have ever compared. She made corn bread a lot, too, but we called it Johnny cake. Yum!

  4. Oooh there are so many! Being of Indian origin but with both my parents both in Kenya, then marrying and moving to the UK, there is an amazing amount of flavours and dishes that conjour up memories of childhood…
    Ugali and saag- ugali a traditional Kenyan steamed corn meal type dish which you mould with your hands into little vesels, and scoop saag, spinach curry, into.. Mmmm!
    Plain paratha and fried egg – paratha, a fried indian bread with egg, again yummm!
    And Nesquik Banana milkshake!!!

  5. When I was a girl, our next door neighbour, Mrs. White, worked in the kitchen at the Ali Baba Steak House in Waterloo. One day, quite out of the blue, she invited me to join her for dinner there. Just me. I don’t recall the meal except for the beverage. It was either Coke or Pepsi, but it tasted extraordinary. What was different, I asked? A squeeze of lemon juice. Have never really enjoyed a cola quite as much, since.

Join the Fun and Comment

