Naked

Some people feel naked without their cellphones. They can’t go anywhere without them. Otherwise how would their family and friends and work be able to reach them. It’s awful when you call someone up and get a voice telling them they’re not available. Or even worse, the caller gets dead air. Or dead text.

More folks have been driven insane because of that one thing, dead cellphonitis, than in the entire million years or so of Cro Magnon insanity before. It’s a fact. You don’t believe me. Just check the government statistics. Oh, I forgot, Congress considered the funding for the Department of Cro Magnon Insanity an earmark and it’s out. So you’ll just have to take my word for it.

Some people feel naked without their makeup. And yes, ladies, that includes guys too. Have you seen what Gene Simmons of KISS looks like without makeup. Needless to say he makes Shrek look like Brad Pitt. No, these people can’t go anywhere without their lipstick or eye shadow or mascara.

But me, I feel naked without my lowly pen and pad. I was out and about the other afternoon, and suddenly the Muse, as she is wont to do, drops an idea out of the seventh dimension where all good ideas come from. And what do you know? I had left my pad and pen at home. These days it’s getting harder and harder to remember those juicy little tidbits that might make a good scene or a blog or a story that just needs telling. Unfortunately I had nary a thing to write on and now that brilliant idea has gone kerplop. I know it was brilliant. I just know it because it is the one that I can’t recall.

Which reminds me of the story of Hadley losing Hemingway’s stories on a train when he was living in Paris. Who knows? Maybe it was “A Perfect Day for Bananfish” and J. D. found it when he was off in Europe fighting the Big One for Truth, Justice and the American Way. We do know that the Salinger met the Maestro and was duly impressed.

All I know is that I just can’t place that story that the Muse dropped on my head. I do know it came because the darn thing hurt. It’s somewhere in my pea-brain. I know it is. But who knows. Some guy named Salinger may find it on a train traveling from Geneva to Paris and publish as his own. That is the way of muses, you know.

Has this ever happened to you?

14 thoughts on “Naked

  1. I don’t have any advice for you Don, I use the notebook app on my phone for things that can’t wait till I have paper. Or as another commenter said, I email myself a reminder.

  2. I once had an entire little story pop in my head on a drive to the dentist. I ended up stopping at CVS for pen and paper to jot down at least the bones of it…that was at least a year ago. Thanks for reminding me to get back to it, Don! Now, I only hope I can read the scribble.

  3. Sadly, I am of the new age where my pen and paper is the computer. I do occasionally write on pen and paper but often struggle with handwriting, not to mention the online sites I lean on heavily for research and rhyming aids. Where is all this leading? Well I guess you could think about the amount of times when I’ve been inspired but was not in front of my computer or even able to grab a pen and paper. However, I probably lost a few lines that way, but never a whole idea, especially if it was a winner. My thinking…if it was a winner, it’ll come back to you.

  4. Ah yes, the uncooperative Muse. My muse is so fickle. Always showing up when I can’t sit with her. I tried talking to her. Rationalizing with her. Pleading with her! Nothing helps. I even tried reverse psychology on her, telling her she is not welcome in my head anymore. She laughs, “you’re funny!” She says.
    Just won’t adhere to a schedule. I do still love her though.

    • Don’t have a smartphone. Don’t want a phone smarter than me. Actually I have a tablet but I never seem to be able to use it for note taking. I guess I am just old fashioned. I like the notepad and pen effect to initially get things on paper.

  5. I tried carrying a pen and paper, only to discover that my handwriting was unreadable. Most of my story ideas come to me on my walks with Scooter and when I get a good idea, it forms itself fully and completely.

Join the Fun and Comment

