Eve

“My heart is breaking,”

Eve wrote her sister

Lilith, Adam’s first wife,

residing in the land of Cush.

Eve scribbled the words

with the ink of her tears.

“My son has murdered my son,

and the murderer is a ghost

haunting the valleys

and the rivers between

the two of us, you and me.”

Eve sat by the river

mourning her baby child,

mourning her first born man.

Eve sat by the river,

the blues in her eyes shedding

one hundred forty-six tears each day

‘tween the sunrise and the moon.

“River, my heart is bleeding,”

she sang, her grief rising

like smoke up to the ears of God

while the clock kept faith with time.

Eve went down to kneel

in the church down by the river Cry.

She lit a votive candle

and prayed the rosary

one hundred and fifty times

for the souls of her sons.

For the one whose life was taken away,

and the one who took the life

she prayed.

9 thoughts on “Eve

  1. I do remember this and enjoy it even more now! It has only been in the last year that I’ve read and written so much poetry, so I think my appreciation has grown. I’m a Catholic drop out, never making it beyond communion, so bible stories are a vague memory for me. But this took me back to the river. Well done!

  2. I like this poem so much. It flowed so easily and felt so real and contained so many poetic devices I was introduced to in the poetry challenge I attempted a few months back. I read and reread it. Most enjoyable.

  3. A sad reflection on one of the world’s oldest story of a mother’s love. I wrote a bit of a spoof on this one, something about how Cain wanted to to be as great as his brother, but he wasn’t able (Abel) heh, heh!

Join the Fun and Comment

