Uncle Bardie’s Movie of the Week: Andy Griffith took my virginity

Once a week on Monday, Uncle Bardie shares a movie with his Readers he gives a big two thumbs up. It will simply be a short excerpt or a trailer. From time to time, a reflection on the movie will appear below the video. So pop some popcorn and give yourself a treat. This week’s movie is

Now don’t get me wrong. I am not talking about sex. I’m talking movies. It was in the mid-1950s. The first movie I ever saw was “No Time for Sergeants” and it became the movie that I measure all other movies by. The story of a country boy who goes into the army, it was first a Broadway play where Andy perfected his art of the country boy who goes off to visit the city. He turns out to be a lot smarter than we’d want to give him credit for. Man, I loved this movie. Still do.

Part of the experience of seeing this movie, and movies like it, was going into a movie theater, getting myself a big bag of popcorn and a coke. Sitting there in front of the big screen with the actors larger than the fifty-foot woman, I was in what used to be called “hog heaven”. There was nothing like it. At least, not in my young life. It was one of the great pleasures of my life. A way to get away from all the kidding I took from other kids because I had big ears and was clumsy and a bit nerdy, though not nerdy enough to be really smart like Steve Wosniak or Bill Gates and make a fortune inventing stuff.

No matter how many movies I have seen since that first Andy Griffith moment, I will never forget the buzz I got from “No time for Seargeants”.  He really made my day.

What was your first movie?

12 thoughts on “Uncle Bardie’s Movie of the Week: Andy Griffith took my virginity

  1. Love Andy Griffith. I don’t remember my first movie though. I remember watching Gilligan’s Island and Lost in Space and always hoping this would be the week they would find their way back home. Never happened though. They’re all still lost I guess.

    • Ever wonder why it was called Gilligan’s Island and not the Howell’s Island or Marianne’s Island or Ginger’s Island or the Professor’s Island or the Captain’s Island? I have. It keeps me awake at night.

  2. Wow! I really can’t remember! The only ones I can remember seeing the theater at a young age was Grease and a lesser known one called Ragtime that was pretty violent and kind of upset me. Haven’t seen many black and whites including this one but I will take your word that it’s terrific.

  3. My first movie was Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, at the outdoor theater. It was a double feature with Yours, Mine, and Ours, but I fell asleep during that one.

  4. It was a Disney cartoon – either Cinderella or Pinocchio – both left emotional marks – I won’t say scars because that sounds negative – my first movie without an adult was My Fair Lady.

  5. Andy Griffith is a hell of a great actor. One of the greatest performances in all of film was his portrayal of Larry Rhodes in Eli Kazan’s “A Face in the Crowd”.

Join the Fun and Comment

