We’re working things out

A pickin’ and grinnin’ lyric.

Off to Philadelphia, P A
They drove for twenty-four hours a day.
They hoped hard times had stayed their stay
But the hard times followed them anyway.
I’m still with Tommy, she says to me
We’re working things out.
Sure, he can’t hold a job, she says to me.
We’re still working things out.

He had seven jobs in seven days
And he has an eighth on the way.
He needs to get his act ready for play.
Just give him some time. It’ll be any day.
I’m still with Tommy, she says to me
We’re working things out.
Sure, he can’t hold a job, she says to me.
We’re still working things out.

It’s not that he’s lazy or that he drinks.
He’s in need of a little leeway.
It’s taking some time to work out the kinks.
He keeps hoping things will work out okay.
I’m still with Tommy, she says to me
We’re working things out.
Sure, he can’t hold a job, she says to me.
We’re still working things out.

5 thoughts on “We’re working things out

  1. Oh boy, I’ve feel like there’s been times I’ve had 7 jobs in 7 days but for completely different reasons. This was sweet in it’s way. It kind of reminded me of Jack and Diane or Life In The Fast Lane, even though the sentiment wasn’t quite the same.

Join the Fun and Comment

