On Top of It #17: A Lesson in Humility and Tone

I read this and it brought home the difficult lives and choices college graduates are having to suffer through what with huge student debt. Today’s bachelor degree is what a high school diploma was when I was going to school. Without at least some college education or trade school, it isn’t possible to be hired in most fields these days.

The Drunken Odyssey

On Top of It #17 by Lisa Martens

A Lesson in Humility and Tone: Talia Jane

This weekend, the Internet caught fire with Talia Jane, a Yelp customer support representative who wrote a public, scathing letter to the CEO of her company and, of course, was fired soon after.

I agree with a higher minimum wage. I also agree that student debt cripples the dreams of many young Americans . . . such as myself. And so, I opened the link ready to read a letter written by an educated young woman, a fellow customer support rep, my peer, addressing these points.

What I read was a condescending rant that looked like a long drunk text I might send to the person labeled “Fuckboy” in my phone. Asking the CEO to pay her phone bill? Complaining that she couldn’t take the free food home? Bitching about the $20 copay to…

View original post 863 more words

2 thoughts on “On Top of It #17: A Lesson in Humility and Tone

  1. I like that she takes responsibility for her choices. College has always been a burden. I worked one full time and one part time job just to pay the rent for years. And when I could finally afford just to work the one full time job, I went to community college because I could afford it. Then eventually I went to a boring local state commuter university because it was cheap, half the price of any of the other local state schools available. We all make choices. I have a magna cum laude degree from a middle of the road university and no debt. Turns out I’m not using it anyway. LOL

Join the Fun and Comment

