Uncle Bardie’s Weekly Music Pick: Daughter

It’s Thursday again. You know what that means. Uncle Bardie’s Weekly Music Pick. Uncle Bardiie gives a double thumbs up to this week’s selection: “Daughter” by Loudon Wainwright III.

This one is for Father’s Day.

I don’t have kids. Written by Peter Blegvad, Loudon Wainwright III’s delivery gives me such insight in what it must be like to be the father of a girl. That magic he created. That piece of life he gave to the world. That Someone who changed his world. There ain’t nothing like a mother and a father and their connection to their children. I have experienced it but I’ve seen it. I see it in the eyes of a dad watching his darling at a ballet recital. At a graduation. When his daughter kicks a soccer ball to score. And just those moments when she’s telling her dad goodnight. There’s a connection. Often we give mothers all the credit. And it’s credit they deserve. But we forget the dads. How important they are to taking their children’s hands and leading them into becoming the person they become. This one is for the dads…and their daughters.

I would never have found this favorite had I not watched “Knocked Up”. It was one of those kind of movies I don’t usually respect. After taking a chance on it, I begrudgingly had to give Judd Apitow the respect he deserves. With this movie, he delivered. And his choice of Joe Henry and Loudon Wainwright III gets a two thumbs up from moi. The soundtrack has rock, country, rap, and Brittney Spears all fit perfectly for this movie.

4 thoughts on “Uncle Bardie’s Weekly Music Pick: Daughter

  1. I saw the movie with a friend. It was her birthday and her choice. I, too, noticed the soundtrack and really liked this song. Like you, though I’ve never been a dad, I’ve watched some good ones, including my own, andI felt the song captured the father/daughter relationship wonderfully..

Join the Fun and Comment

