I am an American

Coming to America

I am an American,
son of the eagle,
daughter of the buffalo.
I am American.

I am an American,
an Auschwitz number
on my arm in Chicago.
I am American.

I am an American,
Aztec,conquistador,
and los angelino.
I am American.

I am an American,
Guinness and Ulysses
in Boston town.
I am American.

I am an American,
the blood of the Rhine
and Minneapolis.
I am American.

I am an American,
Green Cliffs of Mount Cangyan
and that City by the Bay.
I am American.

I am an American,
sun set in Senegal,
sun rose in Virginia.
I am American.

I am an American,
Cossack and Russian steppes,
across the Kansas plain.
I am American.

I am an American,
flamenco in my feet
and Seattle-bound
I am American.

I am an American,
the songs of Puccini
rising above Hoboken streets
I am American.

I am an American,
Creole speech
in the French Quarter.
I am American.

I am an American,
a Mariel exile
Miami safe.
I am American.

I am an American,
Zorba in my feet,
New York City dancing.
I am American.

I am an American,
the Ganges far away,
on a Mississippi morn.
I am American.

I am an American:
Indigenous,
Jewish,
Mexican,
Irish,
German,
Chinese,
African,
Russian,
Gypsy,
Italian,
Haitian,
Cuban,
Greek,
Hindu.
We are American,
standing under the Lady’s torch.
lit for the world to see
her promise.

Tommy Fleming: Isle of Hope, Isle of Tears

3 thoughts on “I am an American

Join the Fun and Comment

