Uncle Bardie’s Weekly Music Pick: Rox in the Box

It’s Thursday again. You know what that means. Uncle Bardie’s Weekly Music Pick. Uncle Bardiie gives a double thumbs up to this week’s selection. It’s in honor of Labor Day coming this Monday. The Decmbrists give us “Rox in the Box”:

Like so many songs I love, I can remember exactly where I was when I heard this one over the speakers in Borders Bookstore. That was before Borders went bankrupt and closed its doors. Every Saturday I met there with a group of writers for a critique group. We met there for years.

After the group meeting, I often walked around the store, perusing through the opening paragraphs of the latest and the greatest to get a sense of what the big boy publishers were putting out. Often I didn’t like what I read. But there was always hope I might discover some novelist that wet my whistle. From time to time, I found one. I would line up and make my purchase, then go over and have a muffin or a cookie or a pastry and a cup of joe and enjoy my new treasure.

One afternoon I was rambling through the store, doing my normal perusing thing. “Rox in the Box” came on and I stopped in my tracks. When you hear a song that makes you float, it is magical. The Decembrists had hit the nail on the head with the hammer of their music.

Few bands these days sing of what working people have always known. Reaching all the way back to those Egyptians lying down brick for the latest god king’s pyramid, the song gives the listener a taste of the life of the common laboring folk and the lack of hope for a way out. So many of our brothers and sisters in so many lands live out this hopelessness. And often they are forgotten.

The Decembrists reminded me, and still reminds me, of the kind of life I don’t have to live. For that I am grateful. But every so often when I get full of myself, I pull this one out and listen.

One thought on “Uncle Bardie’s Weekly Music Pick: Rox in the Box

  1. I’d never hear this song, Don, but it, and your description of first hearing it, struck a chord within me. I come from the hardworking folks of this song, folks who installed the dream of college and a different kind of life in their children. Again you made me remember.

Join the Fun and Comment

