Uncle Bardie’s Movie of the Week: Mowgli and the Gang

Once a week on Monday, Uncle Bardie shares a movie with his Readers he gives a big two thumbs up. It will simply be a short excerpt or a trailer. Uncle Bardie might even throw in a reflection on the movie. If so, it will make an appearance below the video. So pop some popcorn and give yourself a treat. This week’s movie is Disney’s “The Jungle Book” (2016):

As most of you know, I am not much for remakes. When I saw that Disney had remade “The Jungle Book”, I was pretty positive I didn’t want to see it. Then I saw the trailer on You Tube and I go, “Why not? It can’t be all that bad.” After all, Walt and his animators had given us a good animated version in the sixties. I even remembered the song, “The Bare Necessities”, sung by Phi Harris.

But this one was going to be a live action movie. I have seen the other live action versions, even the Sabu, and I wasn’t all that impressed. And the recent live-action Disney movies I haven’t care for. I am not talking about the Marvel ones or the Star Wars. I am referring to “John Carter”, “The Great and Powerful Oz” and “Maleficent” which were made by Disney Studios under the Disney banner. Though I did enjoy Tim Burton’s “Alice in Wonderland”, mostly they underwhelmed me.

Finally Disney has produced a really good live action movie. There is nothing, and I mean nothing, to complain about with this new “Jungle Book”. Director Jon Favreau has given us a terrific movie.

Movies live or die based on the story. It’s not the cgi or the music or the actors. It’s the story. Director Favreau has not forgotten that. And he has a great supporting cast. Ben Kingsley is Bagheera, the Panther. Idris Elba is Shere Khan, the Tiger. Scarlet Johansson is Kaa the Snake. Christopher Walken is King Louie, the Monkey King. And Bill Murray gets to sing “The Bare Necessities” as Baloo the Bear. Also this was Gary Shandling final movie. He plays Ikki the Porcupine.

Recently I have seen two amazing performances by child actors. Jacob Temblay turned in a great performance as Jack in “Room”. “Jungle Book” gives us Neel Sethi. He is absolutely fearless as Mowgli, the boy who was adopted by wolves. On top of all that, Favreau gives our eyes a visual delight of a jungle.

There’s not much else I can say about this one. Except see it. You might just find yourself enjoying it as much as I did.

5 thoughts on “Uncle Bardie’s Movie of the Week: Mowgli and the Gang

  1. I haven’t sen a Disney movie since my grandchildren outgrew them. Maybe I’ll give this one a try in two years when it makes it to Craig. PS: I agree about the young man who played Jack in “Room.”

Join the Fun and Comment

