Uncle Bardie’s Weekly Music Pick: The Boxer

It’s Thursday again. You know what that means. Uncle Bardie’s Weekly Music Pick. Uncle Bardiie gives a double thumbs up to this week’s selection: “The Boxer” by Simon & Garfunkel:

Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel were princes. In the midst of all that great rock and roll, in the midst of Dylan and the Beatles, Led Zeppelin and Cream, Jimi Hendrix and Janis Joplin, there was these two kids from Queens, New York, giving me some of the most personal songs. The first time I heard “The Sounds of Silence” I knew here were two guys who knew what I was feeling deep down.

I went through that album, hungering for more. Then they gave me “Parsley, Sage, Rosemary & Thyme” and “Bookends”. When I set the needle down on “Bridge Over Troubled Water”, it was something beyond. A spiritual experience. Each song just right. I flipped vinyl disc over and dropped the needle onto “The Boxer”. Through the years, I have carried this song inside me. It’s gotten me through so much crap. Just about when I want to give up, it’s the boxer in that song that helps me pick myself back up. He’s something else.

9 thoughts on “Uncle Bardie’s Weekly Music Pick: The Boxer

  1. Simon and Garfunkel are one of those that I like…but just don’t tell anyone!! My mother gave me a bunch of the albums she listened to when she was a teen, when I was about 8 and I remember listening to them until there was nothing left. S&G included, of course.

Join the Fun and Comment

