Older Things

For Poetry Month. Inspired by the poetry of Jim Harrison

I have of recent years fallen in love with older things:
A bicycle lock key in an old business card box,
Bobby Thomson’s Topp card folded and passed from wallet to wallet,
a Cracker Jack whistle carried on my keyring, prized like an Olympic Gold Medal,
a Leaves of Grass on the window sill,
a laminated red maple leaf bookmarking Tennyson’s “Ulysses”.
On a bookshelf nearby my mother’s photograph.
I wish I had known my Mama better.

These are but a few of the older things
gathered in the graveyard of my memory,
a place where things go not to die,
exhibits in a Hall of Fame of Older Things.

I make my way through the exhibitions
like some gondolier along Venetian canals.
Here’s a small black rock a college friend gave to me.
She said it was a meteorite come roaring out of the sky.
I loved her. She had other plans
than marriage. It was the call of an explorer’s life.

In a beat-up wooden box somewhere in a closet I have letters
she wrote me way back when she was in Antarctica.
Then, like some Michael Rockefeller, she disappeared.
When I received the news, I was off to bed for a week.
Her life, a piece of parchment shredded into tears.
She was a Cape of Good Hope,
a Shambhala, a nightingale garden.

Outside the sun. The birds chirp their spring songs.
The sun sets in the West as I stroll
through the Hanging Gardens of Babylon,
my mind wondering if Nebuchadnezzar was happy.
Did he walk through these same gardens and fall in love
with older things?

Join the Fun and Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.